What islands are in Indian Ocean?

What islands are in Indian Ocean?

Diego GarciaJavaJuan de Nova IslandMafia IslandNorth Sentinel IslandPraslin
Indian Ocean/Islands

What are the three Indian Ocean islands?

Islands of the Indian Ocean

  • British Indian Ocean Territory.
  • Christmas Island.
  • Cocus (Keeling) Islands.
  • Comoros.
  • Egmont Island.
  • Mayotte.

What is the small island in the Indian Ocean?

Some of the Islands we visit:

  • Hithadhoo, Addu Atoll, Maldives.
  • Mozambique Island.
  • Hell-Ville, Nosy Be, Madagascar.
  • Ile Alphonse, Seychelles.
  • Yala National Park, Sri Lanka.

Which island in the Indian Ocean was converted by the US into a naval base?

On August 3, Al Jazeera published an extensive investigation into the development of a military facility on North Agal├ęga island, which is part of the island nation of Mauritius. It revealed that Indian workers are laying the groundwork for what is expected to be an Indian naval military facility.

Which island is a very popular tourist destination and lies in the Indian Ocean?

1. Maldives. The Maldives is a unique country. Located southwest of India, it consists of 26 coral atolls and no less than 1,192 islands, a couple of hundred of which are inhabited, plus an additional 80 or so that are home to a resort.

How many islands are in Indian Ocean?

Who owns Diego Garcia island?

the British Indian Ocean Territory
Diego Garcia is part of the British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) formed in 1965 from territory belonging formerly to Mauritius and the Seychelles.

Are there 247 islands in India?

The India has a total 247 islands, of which 204 lie in the Bay of Bengal and the rest is located in the Arabian Sea.

Which is the biggest island in Indian Ocean?

The correct answer is Madagascar. It is the largest island in the Indian Ocean with an area of about 226,658 square miles.

Can I visit Diego Garcia island?

The main island, Diego Garcia, is a military facility off limits to anyone not on official duty, but some of the uninhabited outer islands can be visited by independent yachters with advance permission.

What currency is used in Diego Garcia?

Access to Diego Garcia is only permitted to those with connections to the military facility.”…

Capital Camp Thunder Cove
Currency United States dollar (USD) pound sterling (GBP)
Population 4 thousand
Country code +246
Time zone UTC+06:00

Which is the largest island in the Indian Ocean?

How many Indian islands are there?

This is a partial list of islands of India. There are a total of 1,382 islands (including uninhabited ones) in India.

Is there a US military base on Diego Garcia?

In January 1971, U.S. Navy Seabees were transported to the island by landing ship to begin building the U.S. military presence on Diego Garcia. Today Diego Garcia is home to 15 separate commands, including the U.S. Navy Support Facility, which functions as the host command.

  • September 11, 2022