Which part of the IMDG Code contains the dangerous goods list?

Which part of the IMDG Code contains the dangerous goods list?

Volume 2 includes the following parts: Part 3 Dangerous goods list , special provisions for limited and excepted quantities exceptions. Appendix A List of generic and N.O.S.

What are the two forms of dangerous goods according to IMDG Code?

What are dangerous goods?

  • Class 1: Explosives.
  • Class 2: Gases.
  • Class 3: Flammable liquids.
  • Class 4: Flammable solids; substances liable to spontaneous combustion; substances which, on contact with water, emit flammable gases.
  • Class 5: Oxidizing substances and organic peroxides.
  • Class 6: Toxic and infectious substances.

What is sp961?

The Special Provisions were introduced as a way to limit the amount of dangerous goods contained within vehicles when hazard communication is not provided. Further, the provisions identified exceptions to hazard communication when dangerous goods are present in certain quantities.

What are the 3 types of ships subject to the IMDG Code?

IMDG cargoes are divided into three main groups and each has a specific plan to store, transport and handling in case of accident or spill: Group 1: Cargo which are extremely dangerous. Group 2: Cargo with moderate danger. Group 3: Cargo with less danger.

How many IMDG codes dangerous goods are classified?

nine clauses
There are nine clauses in which the dangerous goods are classified.

What does special provision 274 or 318 in column 6 of dangerous goods List mean?

Special Provision 274 assigned to Generic and Not Otherwise Specified (N.O.S.) entries in Model Regulations requires the shipper to supplement the Proper Shipping Name (PSN) with Technical Name on the Packages (marking) and in shipping papers (Dangerous Goods Declaration).

What are the 9 classes of dangerous goods in the IMDG Code?


  • Class 2 :Gases.
  • Class 3:Flammable Liquids.
  • Class 4:Flammable solids or substances.
  • Class 5: Oxidizing substances and organic peroxides.
  • Class 7:Radioactive material.
  • Class 8:Corrosive substances.
  • Class 9:Miscellaneous dangerous substances and articles and environmentally hazardous substances.
  • What are the Nine 9 classes of IMDG Code?

    What does the IMDG Code cover?

    The International Maritime Dangerous Goods (IMDG) Code was developed as a uniform international code for the transport of dangerous goods by sea. It covers such matters as packing, container traffic and stowage, with particular reference to the segregation of incompatible substances.

    What is a special provision in dangerous goods?

    Examples of special provisions include packing instructions (such as the good may not be allowed to be packed in the same means of containment with another product), whether a technical name of the good must appear on the shipping document or under what situations, what regulations apply when other circumstances are …

    What is special provision?

    Special Provisions are specific conditions or requirements peculiar to the contract under consideration and are supplemental to the General Provisions.

    What is Part 7 of IMDG Code?

    Part 7 of IMDG Code 36th amendment , especially chapters 7.1 and 7.2, is extensively rearranged so as to make the stowage and segregation provisions more user friendly while referring. The main changes are made by re arranging otherwise scattered provisions in an orderly sequence.

    How many DG classes are there?

    9 classes
    Dangerous goods are classified into 9 classes, based on the substance’s characteristics and properties. These criteria are outlined in the TDG Regulations. Assigning a substance into a hazard class is usually done by the consignor.

    How is IMDG Code used?

    The IMDG Code was developed as an international code for the maritime transport of dangerous goods in packaged form, in order to enhance and harmonize the safe carriage of dangerous goods and to prevent pollution to the environment.

    How many IMDG codes are there?

    nine IMDG Code classes
    IMDG Code Classes and Divisions. When you’re looking to implement IMDG Code categories, it’s crucial to understand the nine IMDG Code classes and the materials falling under them.

    What is IMDG Code classification?

    Which chapter of the IMDG Code contains the provisions for limited quantities?

    chapter 3.2
    Column 7a of Dangerous Goods List in chapter 3.2 of IMDG Code sets the maximum quantity per inner packing for limited quantities.

    Which section of the DGR can you find special provisions?

    For example, Special Provision A1 of the DGR, when shown in Column M of the Dangerous Goods List against an entry that is forbidden for transport on passenger aircraft but permitted on cargo-only aircraft, contains provisions for that substance or article to be transported on passenger aircraft, provided that the …

    • August 8, 2022