How do I get my ARD expunged in PA?

How do I get my ARD expunged in PA?

Expungement of an ARD case requires filing a motion with the court and serving a copy upon the District Attorney in that county. When the case is complete, you will receive a copy of an order that is signed by the judge. The order instructs all relevant agencies to expunge any records of the case.

How long does ARD expungement take in PA?

How long does an expungement take in PA? Pennsylvania expungements can be filed at the County Court level. The petition can be prepared and filed within 30 day period of time, the Court may take 30 days to review it, the District Attorneys may wish to take a position on the petition.

Can you get a DUI expunged in Pennsylvania?

A person who completes the terms of conditions of Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) following an arrest and charge for driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances (DUI) in Pennsylvania is eligible to have the DUI arrest and charge expunged from his or her criminal records.

Is an ARD in Pennsylvania considered a conviction?

Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (“A.R.D.”) is a pre-trial intervention program for first time non-violent offenders. A.R.D. is not a conviction and does not require a defendant to serve mandatory jail sentences associated with certain convictions.

How much does an expungement cost in PA?

You have to pay a fee of $132 per form to file, (there can also be additional fees from the county where you are filing).

How long does it take to expunge a record in PA?

How Long Do You Have to Wait to Get Your Record Expunged in PA? If your charge is eligible, Pennsylvania expungement petitions can be prepared and filed within 30 days. The Court may then take 30 days to review it, and once the Court signs the order, the State Police will clear the record in a few months.

How much does expungement cost in PA?

Is there a statute of limitations on DUI in PA?

The statute of limitations on DUI in PA is two years, as outlined by § 5552 of Pennsylvania’s judicial laws. This means that for two years after a person commits the crime of DUI, the government can prosecute them.

How long is ARD program in PA?

6 to 24 months
The length of the Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition program can be anywhere from 6 to 24 months. For a typical DUI case, the length is usually 12 months.

What happens if you get a DUI after ARD in PA?

Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may be subject to license suspension in Pennsylvania for30 to 90 days. It is possible to avoid suspension altogether in some cases. You will also be required to complete an alcohol highway safety class at your cost.

Is it possible to get ARD twice in PA?

The Pennsylvania Superior Court issued a ground breaking decision and held that participation in Pennsylvania’s Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) program for a DUI offense cannot be used to treat a subsequent driving under the influence case as a second or subsequent offense for mandatory minimum sentencing …

How can I get my record expunged for free in PA?

You can take a free Pennsylvania expungement test at to see if you are eligible for expungement. If your offense was a summary offense (minor offenses such as underage drinking, highway obstruction, and retail theft), you may be eligible to expunge your criminal record.

What charges can be expunged in PA?

The expanded list of offenses that are now eligible to be expunged includes substance-related offenses such as DUI’s and controlled substance and drug paraphernalia possession, as well as 2nd-degree misdemeanors such as larceny, identity theft, and reckless endangerment.

What crimes have no statute of limitations in Pennsylvania?

Under Pennsylvania law, the statute of limitations depends on the severity of the crime you face, ranging from two years to no limit. Murder: No time limit. Voluntary manslaughter: No time limit. Conspiracy to murder: No time limit.

Can you get ARD twice in PA?

Pennsylvania ARD Eligibility and Requirements Typically, a first-time offender charged with a minor offense is eligible to join the program. However, ARD is really not a “one-time” thing. An individual can be placed into the ARD program up to three times over a thirty-year period.

Can misdemeanors be expunged in PA?

The only way a felony or misdemeanor conviction can be expunged from your record is by receiving a pardon from the Governor. Without a pardon the court can’t clear such convictions unless you’re more than 70 years old and can meet other conditions.

Can you get ARD twice in Pennsylvania?

How many times can you do ARD in PA?

What happens when ARD is revoked in PA?

If the Court elects not to extend your probation, then you will be removed from the ARD program when the judge signs the revocation order. The District Attorney’s Office now has 1 year from the date you are revoked from the ARD program to bring your case to trial.

Can I get ARD with a felony in PA?

While there is no longer a statutory five-year bar to appointment for applicants who have been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony or a lesser offense incompatible with the duties of a notary public, any person who has been convicted of or accepted Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) for any felony offense or any misdemeanor offense involving fraud, dishonesty or deceit within five years preceding the date of application for appointment is presumed ineligible

How long does expungement take in PA once filed?

The expungement procedure in Pennsylvania is very simple and takes around 3 to 4 months generally. First, you need to file an expungement motion with the required documents and filing fees at the corresponding county’s courts. You case will be schedule for a hearing with the Common Pleas Judge

Can I get ARD in Pennsylvania?

The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania’s Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition Program (ARD) is a special pre-trial intervention program for offenders with no prior or limited record. There is usually an application required for consideration in the ARD program and time frames for that application to be submitted.

What is the process to obtain an expungement?

Apply for Certificate of Eligibility. Apply for and get the Certificate of Eligibility from the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI).

  • File Documents. File your papers with the court.
  • Serve the Prosecutor. Take or mail the following documents to the prosecutor’s office that handled the criminal case.
  • Prosecutor’s Response.
    • August 30, 2022