What are the 7 vows in Hindu marriage?

What are the 7 vows in Hindu marriage?

Saat Phere are seven vows taken collectively by the bride and the groom as they do the parikrama around Agni Dev by taking him as a witness to their marriage. This is called AgniSakhi. The groom leads his bride while doing the first four parikramas while the latter leads her man during the remaining three pheres.

What do the 7 steps in a Hindu Wedding mean?

Saptapadi (English: seven steps, saptapadī) is the most important rite (Sanskrit: rītī) of a Hindu marriage ceremony. The word, Saptapadi means “Seven steps”. After tying the Mangalsutra, the newlywed couple take seven steps, that is called Saptapadi. After the seventh step, the couple legally become husband and wife.

What are the 7 Pheras?

The 7 Pheras or the Saptapadi is the true essence of a Vedic wedding. Only when the bride and the groom take the 7 vows keeping the holy pyre as the witness, they are called as married. The bride and the groom hold their hands and take seven rounds around the Agni and promise to be with each other for eternity.

What are the seven promises of Saptapadi?

Saptapadi (literally translating to seven steps in Sanskrit) refers to the seven promises of marriage that a bride and groom take with each step. Just like the vows that are said in a Christian ceremony, this is one of the most important rituals in a Hindu wedding.

What is a wedding promise?

Marriage vows are promises each partner in a couple makes to the other during a wedding ceremony based upon Western Christian norms. They are not universal to marriage and not necessary in most legal jurisdictions.

Why do Hindus take 7 Phera?

The seventh phera focuses on accepting each other as life partners. The man says, “we are man and wife now. I am yours, and you are mine forever.” The bride says that God has witnessed their union and that she will cherish and honour their relationship.

What are the 4 wedding vows?

“In the name of God, I, _____, take you, _____, to be my wife/husband, to have and to hold from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, until parted by death.

Why do bride and groom go around the fire 7 times?

During the Saath Phere, the bride and the groom, circumambulate (walk around) the sacred fire seven times as they exchange their marital vows. The fire here becomes the witness (Agni Sakshi) as they make promises to each other.

Are there 4 Pheras or 7?

Gujaratis and Sindhis take four pheras around the fire, while most other cultures take seven pheras. Before the pheras, the bride is seated to the right of the groom, but after the pheras she is seated to his left, to signify that she is now closer to his heart. In an Arya Samaji wedding, the couple take seven pheras.

  • September 7, 2022