Who got highest vote in India?

Who got highest vote in India?

The Bharatiya Janata Party received 37.36% of the vote, the highest vote share by a political party since the 1989 general election, and won 303 seats, further increasing its substantial majority. In addition, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won 353 seats.

Who won election in 1947 in India?

Prime Minister after election The Indian National Congress (INC) won a landslide victory, winning 364 of the 489 seats and 45% of the total votes polled. This was over four times as many votes as the second-largest party. Jawaharlal Nehru became the first democratically elected Prime Minister of the country.

What was the outcome of the elections of 1945 46 held in India?

General elections were held in British India in December 1945 to elect members of the Central Legislative Assembly and the Council of State. The Indian National Congress emerged as the largest party, winning 59 of the 102 elected seats.

Who won the 1946 election?

The 1946 election resulted in Republicans picking up 55 seats to win majority control. Joseph Martin, Republican of Massachusetts, became Speaker of the House, exchanging places with Sam Rayburn, Democrat of Texas, who became the new Minority Leader.

What was the result of the election of 1937?

The final results of the elections were declared in February 1937. The Indian National Congress emerged in power in eight of the provinces – the exceptions being Punjab and Sindh. The All-India Muslim League failed to form the government in any province.

Who was the first speaker of India?

Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar
G.V. Mavalankar in June 1942
1st Speaker of the Lok Sabha
In office 15 May 1952 – 27 February 1956
Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru

Who won the 1948 election?

It was held on Tuesday, November 2, 1948. In one of the greatest election upsets in American history, incumbent President Harry S. Truman, the Democratic nominee, defeated Republican Governor Thomas E. Dewey.

What was the result of 1937 elections in India?

The Congress won 758 out of around 1500 seats in a resounding victory, and went on to form seven provincial governments. The Congress formed governments in United provinces, Bihar, the Central Provinces, Bombay and Madras.

  • August 7, 2022